Stacey Missmer PhD

Excerpts from our conversation with Dr. Stacey Missmer, an NIH-funded women’s health specialist at Michigan State University.

NIHNiH: How common are painful periods in teens?

Missmer: Moderate to severe pain during one’s period—that is, pain that impacts someone's life—is reported by about 35 to 40% of teen and adult women in the U.S. It isn't in any way rare.

Ronald Chandler PhD

Michigan State University researchers, in collaboration with the Van Andel Institute, have identified a combination of two gene mutations that is linked to endometrial cancer.

Read Full Article on MSUToday


Two well-known gene mutations work in tandem to allow endometrial cells, the cells that line the uterus, to migrate outside of the organ, a phenomenon characteristic of diseases such as endometriosis and endometrial cancer, according to a study in mice and human tissue published August 7 in Nature Communications.

Read Full Aricle on MSU TODAY

MiCare Logo

Leading the MI CARES program are Dr. Cara Poland (left), Medical Director of Addiction Medicine with Spectrum Health Medical Group; adjunct assistant professor in the Department of Obstetrics, Gynecology and Reproductive Biology and Dr. Kelly Strutz (right), epidemiologist and assistant professor in the Department of Obstetrics, Gynecology and Reproductive Biology in the College of Human Medicine at MSU.

Doctors in Lab

A new class of drugs called PARP inhibitors has successfully slowed the spread of ovarian cancer for some patients, but the treatments are less effective for many others.

Read Full Article on MSUToday

Anita Avery Image

Anita Avery, MD, a West Michigan OBGYN Elected Chair at MSMS Annual House of Delegates

Anita Avery, MD, an obstetrician and gynecologist practicing in Lansing, was elected Chairperson of the Michigan State Medical Society Board of Directors during the 154th annual meeting of the MSMS House of Delegates annual meeting May 4th and 5th in Kalamazoo. Avery this weekend became the first woman ever elected to lead the Board.

Bruce Dekker Awardees

Congratulations to Alexandra (Allie) Mahdasian-Miller and Megan Masten, both MD candidate 2019, who are this year’s recipients of the Bruce Drukker Endowed Award of Excellence in Obstetrics and Gynecology.