Ronald Chandler PhD

Michigan State University researchers have identified a potential genetic target for treating an especially painful and invasive form of endometriosis.

Their study published in Cell Reports, a scientific journal, could lead to better treatments for women suffering from severe forms of endometriosis, said Mike Wilson, a postdoctoral fellow in the MSU College of Human Medicine. Wilson and Jake Reske, a graduate student in the MSU Genetics and Genome Sciences Program, are first authors of the study.

Read full article on MSUToday

sparty and a blue sky

The College of Human Medicine recognized outstanding college faculty for their achievements and contributions to medical education, research and academics at the 2020 Faculty Awards Ceremony.

Two of Obstetrics, Gynecology and Reproductive Biology's faculty have been selected. Jennifer E. Johnson, PhD has been selected for the Junior Faculty Mentor Award and Ronald L. Chandler, PhD for the Early Research Excellence Award.


Stacey Missmer PhD

Endometriosis is an often painful ailment afflicting an estimated 10 percent of reproductive-age women, about 190 million women worldwide, yet it doesn’t get nearly the attention or research funding it deserves.

Michigan State University Prof. Stacey Missmer, ScD, hopes that an article she co-authored in the New England Journal of Medicine will help change that.

Read Full Article on Human Medicine Website

Jens Schmidt

The National Institutes of Health today announced Michigan State University researcher Jens Schmidt as a recipient of its prestigious New Innovator Award to study how human cells repair damage to their genome and ward off cancer.

Schmidt, assistant professor in the College of Human Medicine’s Department of Obstetrics, Gynecology and Reproductive Biology, was awarded $1.5 million for his research on a process called the DNA damage response. Cancer can occur when DNA damage response fails, often due to mutations in tumor suppressor genes, such as BRCA1 and BRCA2. Schmidt hopes the project will lead to new and better treatments.


The NIH New Innovator Award was created in 2007 to fund studies by “exceptionally creative early career investigators who propose innovative, high-impact projects.” The grant is part of the NIH’s High-Risk, High-Reward Research Program, which funds innovative studies with no guarantee of success, but the potential for significant discoveries.

Cara Poland

Cara Poland, MD, M.Ed, FACP, DFASAM was trained in internal medicine at St. Joseph Mercy Hospital in Ann Arbor, Michigan and in addiction medicine at Boston Medical Center in Boston, Massachusetts. She has an interest in educating physicians and physicians-in-training to improve care for patients with substance use disorders and alcohol use disorders. Her clinical focus is working with pregnant and parenting women and their families.

Jessica Shepard, MD


Jessica Shepard, MD, MBA
Baylor University Medical Center

Wednesday, October 14, 2020

Presentation at 7am ET


RSVP by October 13, 2020
Lisa Mancini (616) 29507539

Jennifer Johnson, PdD

Jennifer E. Johnson has been awarded a five-year, $3,358,550 grant to study treatment for major depressive disorder among women who have recently experienced perinatal loss—miscarriage, stillbirth, or early neonatal death. This study is the first fully powered randomized trial of treatment for any psychiatric disorder following perinatal loss.

September 14, 2020

The rates of major depressive disorder (MDD) among women who have recently experienced perinatal loss—miscarriage, stillbirth, early neonatal death—are three times that of the general population of women. Mood difficulties can persist up to four years after the loss, suicide rates are high, and PTSD rates are seven times that of mothers of living infants. MDD causes significant impairment, yet treatment has been inadequate.

Teresa Woodruff, PhD

For more than 70 years, the Endocrine Society has recognized the meritorious achievements of endocrine researchers and clinicians worldwide. These awards recognize endocrinologists for seminal research, meritorious service, leadership and mentorship, innovation, international contributions, public service, translation of science to practice, and lifetime achievement.

Award categories honor the achievements of endocrinologists at all stages of their careers, recognizing those at the pinnacle of the field as well as young endocrinologists who are making a mark. The dedication, commitment, and achievements of current and past award recipients have each earned a place in endocrine history.

Read Full Article